Continual Service Improvement Summary

About Continual Service Improvement

Continual Service Improvement (CSI) is very much at the heart of Fifth Step Bermuda Group’s approach, but what is it, and why is it right for your organisation?

In a Nut Shell

CSI is an approach that recognises that the best place to start from is where you are now, and that the best time to start is right now, improving upon what is in place currently. The alternative is very often a large project to start from scratch, which isn’t usually considered the most efficient or cost effective approach.

CSI is consider a best practise approach, and although the names of the stages and things sometimes vary, is at the heart of many modern frameworks and approaches including COBIT (CSI is called Continual Improvement Life Cycle) and ITIL (CSI), and is based upon the Deming Cycle (Plan, Do, Check, Act).

The CSI Lifecycle Overview

Strategy sits at the heart of the Fifth Step Bermuda Group’s CSI Lifecycle, it is from this position that we are able to start the process of IT and Business strategy alignment, that allows the DesignTransition and Operation processes to commence.

All of the stages and processes are underpinned by the Continual Service Improvement approach, this ensures improvements are collated, and prioritised in accordance with the Strategy.

The Design stage is the creation of the projects required to implement the strategic alignment.

The Transition stage transitions the project from the Design stage into regular operational use.

The Operation stage is where the changes are used as intended.

(c)Fifth Step Limited